Partnership Awards

The winners of the Partnership Awards were announced at an Awards ceremony on 23rd April 2018. Congratulations to all of those who won or were shortlisted, and thank you to everyone that has played a part in this year’s Awards.

Academic Rep of the Year

The School, Course, or Postgraduate Research Rep who has actively worked in partnership with others to secure positive, student-led change that makes a real difference to both students and staff.


Rumana Hossain, School of Education

Highly Commended:

Mohamed Kamal Mohamed, School of Civil Engineering


LJ Ferris-Stewart, School of Medicine

Paula Petersen, School of Earth and Environment

Anna Yonish, School of Performance and Cultural Industries

Best Feedback

The person who provides invaluable and supportive academic feedback, in both content and delivery method, which helps others to develop and excel in their work. 


Dan Trowsdale, School of Mechanical Engineering


Sarah Astill, School of Biomedical Sciences

Clive McClelland, School of Music


Equality and Inclusion

This person or group strives to create a fair and equal environment in which everyone can achieve their potential. This could be through curriculum content (such as responding to student-led campaigns to liberate the curriculum, eg. ‘Why is my Curriculum White’), teaching practice, outreach and engagement work or contribution to student success.


Winner (Joint Award):

Alice Drysdale, School of Biology (Student)

Sarah Humphreys, School of Law (Staff)


Language Centre SES Team, School of Languages, Cultures and Societies

Laura Manzi and Ahmed Othman, Leeds University Union

Sameera Rafiq, School of Food Science and Nutrition


The person or group who uses innovative methods and approaches to engage and excite others; such as through embracing new learning technology or through presenting challenging ideas in a way to spark discussion to further the understanding of a subject area.


Georgiana Epure, School of Politics and International Studies


AHC PGR Mental Health Working Group, Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Cultures

Jordan Boyle, School of Mechanical Engineering

Leeds Finance Summit, Leeds University Business School

Inspirational Teaching

The person who has used their passion and dedication for a subject area to inspire others to be ambitious, enthusiastic and challenged to develop new ideas.


Nick Taylor, School of Law


Michael Buller, School of Civil Engineering and SWJTU Joint School

Henry Clarke, School of Languages, Cultures and Societies

Mike Finn, School of Philosophy, Religion and the History of Science

Jane Hetherington, IT Training Unit


Whether staff member, a student rep, a society leader or a student volunteer, this person’s guidance and support has encouraged and nurtured others to develop their skills and prospects for the future, helping them to grow and progress, either personally or in their learning.


Richard Tavernier, School of Sociology and Social Policy


Karen Burland, School of Music

Marika Hildebrandova, School of Law

Katy Roelich, School of Earth and Environment


Personal Tutor

The personal tutor who does their utmost to support their students, promoting engagement with academic and co-curricular activities, and facilitating their personal development.


Kathryn Waldegrave, School of Healthcare


Michael Allis, School of Music

Suzanne Hallam, School of Sociology and Social Policy

Positive Impact

The person who has made an exceptional difference to others’ experiences through an outstanding contribution to their School, Faculty, Department or Service or who has worked hard to make individuals’ experiences better.


Helen Greaves, School of Economics


Azim Abadi, School of Design

Rob Bartley, School of Mechanical Engineering

Michael Huggan, School of Mechanical Engineering

Jacob Rawcliffe, School of Music

Postgraduate Teaching

Any registered Leeds PhD student who, while undertaking their own study, has also actively and exceptionally contributed to other students’ education as a module assistant, seminar leader or demonstrator. 


Chris Waugh, School of Sociology and Social Policy


Alex de Little, School of Music

Elke Pirgmaier, School of Economics and School of Earth and Environment

Zheng Li, School of Food Science and Nutrition


The dissertation, final year project, or thesis supervisor who has guided and inspired others to push the boundaries of their research for a dissertation, final year project or thesis. 


Samantha Pugh, School of Physics and Astronomy


Danielle Barrington, School of Civil Engineering

Alex Dunhill, School of Earth and Environment

Penny Goodman, School of Languages, Cultures and Societies


The staff member, student, or group who makes an exceptional contribution to wellbeing at Leeds through raising awareness, supporting individuals and/or actively referring others at Leeds.


Talin Aghanian, School of Media and Communication


Kate Atkinson, Wellbeing Rep at Devonshire Hall

Jonathan Busch, School of Earth and Environment

FBS Athena Swan Working Group, Faculty of Biological Sciences

Amy Grabe, School of Philosophy, Religion and the History of Science

The Partnership Award

This Award is decided by the shortlisting panel and given to the person or people who have been deemed to have had an exceptional impact. Often this will be someone who has been nominated broadly, or particularly active on a specific issue.


The School of Music