Your Student Executive 2018/19 Announced

Your Student Executive 2018/19 Announced

Student Exec , Democracy , Representation

Your Student Executive for 2018/19 as voted for by over 7,600 students can now be announced.

Union Affairs 2018/19 Chris Morris

Union Affairs Officer Chris Morris

Chris won with a votes total of 2,656. 

2nd - Illeyas Mogeh

3rd - Kane Emerson

4th - Rachael Parker

5th - Eyong Ebot-Arrey

6th - Alisha Lakshani

Chris pledged to:

  • Provide better mental health services
  • Ensure your new spaces are used in the best way
  • Deliver better value for money

Equality & Diversity Officer 2018/19 - Tamsin Scott

Tamsin Scott in the candidate photoshoot

Tamsin won with a votes total of 2,340.

2nd - Aysha Burton

3rd - Akshita Joshi

4th - Gellar Day

5th - Osman Deen

6th - Charley Strachan

Tamsin pledged to:

  • Increase links with sexual health clinics
  • Raise awareness of LGBTQ+ issues
  • Raise discussions of sex and gender with the University

Activities Officer 2018/19 - Lauren Huxley

Lauren Huxley in the candidate photoshoot

Lauren won with a votes total of 2,107.

2nd - Kate Hill

3rd - Frances Dee

4th - Edward Boateng

5th - Ali Sibtain

6th - Zac Walker

7th - Arshdeep Chawla

8th - Amber Padfield

Lauren pledged to:

  • Make sure students know their reps
  • Create platforms for societies to work with the community
  • Reward voluntary Union staff

Welfare Officer 2018/19 - Matt Port

Matt Port in the candidate photoshoot

Matt won with a votes total of 1,870.

2nd - Chloe Sparks

3rd - Sam Andersen

4th - Charlie Collett

5th - Anna Doherty

6th - Pooja Balaji

7th - Joe Mason 

8th - Sana Hussain

Matt pledged to:

  • Encourage safer student drug use
  • Improve mental health support
  • Tackle stigma around periods

Community Officer 2018/19 - Tom Oladipo

Tom Oladipo in the candidate photoshoot

Tom won with a votes total of 2,906.

2nd - Kathryn Irish

3rd - Laura Redsell

Tom pledged to:

  • Simplify plastic recycling
  • More practical cooking classes and workshops
  • Introduce a food, accessories and clothes exchange program

Education Officer 2018/19 - Serene Esuruoso

Serene Esuroso in the candidate photoshoot

Serene won with a votes total of 2,479.

2nd - Fungai Karigambe

3rd - Ben Sanbrook-Davies

4th - Mohamed Jemba

Serene pledged to:

  • Improve timetabling and module choices
  • Improve exam resources to include minimum past papers
  • Integrate joint honours students into both their schools

Gryphon Editor 2018/19 - Robbie Cairns

Robbie won with a votes total of 2,694.

2nd - Juliette Rowsell

3rd - Nancy Gillen 

Robbie pledged to:

  • Engage more with societies
  • Give the paper a design facelift
  • Provide more investigative journalism


Following an appeal the result of the Union Affairs category had to be postponed. A randomly selected student panel, in accordance with LUU's Bye-Laws, was formed and presented with all the information. The panel chose to uphold the Returning Officer’s decision by 10 votes to 3 and we are now able to announce the Union Affairs result.

Chris is the Union Affairs Officer as voted for by 2,656 students. Chris said:

“I'm overwhelmed by the results and I would love to thank everyone who supported me and the Leadership Race. I'm looking forward to being your Union Affairs Officer and working with Tamsin, Matt, Serene, Tom and Lauren to be your Student Exec 18/19. I hope I can bring improved health services, make your money go further and ensure your Union is working for you. I'm really looking forward to the year ahead.”


Your Student Exec 2018/19 will be in place from 1 July 2018.